

## JURY ANNOUNCEMENT OF THE GABARRON INTERNATIONAL AWARD FOR ECONOMICS 2012

The Jury of The Gabarron International Award for Economics was comprised of: Mr. Antonio Catalán Díaz, President of AC Hotel by Marriott; Mr. Lorenzo Gómez Mora, Director of Radio Valladolid and SER Castilla y León; Mr. Adrian Garcia-Aranyos, Vice President of Communications for Latin America of J.P. Morgan; Mr. Antonio Miguel Méndez Pozo, President of the Spanish Communications Group Promecal; Mr. Víctor Moneo Ocaña, Head of Sales IBERIA Spain; Mr. Emilio Ybarra Aznar, General Director of Communications and Institutional Relations of the Spanish Communications Group Vocento.

Chaired by Mr. Emilio Ybarra Aznar and acting as Jury Secretary Mr. Adrian Garcia-Aranyos

unanimously agreed to award The Gabarron International Award for Economics 2012 to

## The Economist

For its extensive career as a reference publication on global economic issues, for its complete analysis of reality, and intelligent, as well as sharp opinion articles. For its editorial solidarity, taking responsibility for its expressed opinions, as well as for its impartial journalism, making inscrutable its tendencies and leanings, something so regrettably polarized these days. For its criticism of corrupt and dishonest personalities, institutions and countries and its recognition of outstanding individuals in fields as diverse as culture, politics and science.

In addition to its weekly magazine, with a circulation of half a million printed worldwide, it puts together more than 50 events per year in 5 continents which exhibits various perspectives on the current situations, by leading economists and scholars, politicians and businessmen who reflect those trends of our society on issues such as the economy, employment, the banking systems, ideas, innovation or the foreseeable future of the world.

Valladolid – New York, November 5, 2012