

## JURY ANNOUNCEMENT OF THE GABARRON INTERNATIONAL AWARD FOR LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT 2012

The Jury of The Gabarron International Award for Lifetime Achievement comprised of: Mr. Ignacio Fernández Sobrino, Regional Director of Onda Cero and Antena 3 Televisión; The Honorable Mr. Jesús Núñez Velázquez, President of Universidad Alfonso X el Sabio; Ms. Sonia Segura, International Diplomatic President; The Honorable Mr. Enrique de Ybarra e Ybarra, President of Vocento.

Chaired by Enrique Ybarra e Ybarra and acting as Jury Secretary Ignacio Fernández Sobrino

**unanimously** agreed to award The Gabarron International Award for Lifetime Achievement 2012 to

## MICHELLE BACHELET

For her continued defense of women's and children's rights, promoting innovative political and economic reforms in the social system of her country from the positions she held in the Chilean government. President Bachelet, through the formation of UN Women, she maintains and expands her social commitment all over the world, improving the lives of thousands of women and children, while promoting gender equality and children's education.

The Jury also wanted to make note of her position and willingness to have a dialogue with the Latin American Community and relations with Spain, contributing to their unification during the years she was president of Chile.

Valladolid – New York, November 7, 2012