

## **Press Release**

## The Economist, Gabarron International Award for Economics 2012

**New York, November 5, 2012.** The Economist has been selected for the Gabarron International Award for Economics 2012 according to the jury comprised of: Mr. Antonio Catalán Díaz, President of AC Hotels by Marriott; Mr. Lorenzo Gómez Mora, Director of Radio Valladolid, SER Castilla and León; Mr. Adrian García-Aranyos, Vice President of Communications, Latin America of J.P. Morgan; Mr. Antonio Miguel Méndez Pozo, President of the Spanish Communications Group Promecal; Mr. Víctor Moneo Ocaña, Head of Sales IBERIA Spain; Mr. Emilio Ybarra Aznar, General Director of Communications and Institutional Relations of Spanish Communications Group Vocento; who was chosen unanimously to present the Gabarron International Award for Economics 2012 to:

## The Economist

For its extensive career as a reference publication on global economic issues, for its complete analysis of reality, and intelligent, as well as sharp opinionated articles. For its editorial solidarity, taking responsibility for its expressed opinions, as well as for its impartial journalism, making inscrutable its tendencies and leanings, something so regrettably polarized these days. For its criticism of corrupt and dishonest personalities, institutions and countries and its recognition of outstanding individuals in fields as diverse as culture, politics and science.

In addition to its weekly magazine, with a circulation of half a million printed worldwide, it puts together more than 50 events per year in five continents which exhibit various perspectives on the current situations, by leading economists and scholars, politicians and businessmen who reflect those trends of our society on issues such as the economy, employment, the banking systems, ideas, innovation or the foreseeable future of the world.

The members of the jury awarded the prize to *The Economist* after having studied the other sixteen candidates from Germany, Belgium, Columbia, Spain and the United States, France, Italy and Mexico.

"The Gabarron International Award for Economics will be given to that person, group or institution whose creative labor in any of the various areas of the economy, management or of research and spreading of studies which have elevated the quality of life of a community of people, of a territory or of the company in its entirety and whose work and concrete projects have been marked by a noticeable social worry." In previous editions, this award was received by: Enrique Fuentes Quintana, (2005); Luis Ángel Rojo (2006); Valpy FitzGerald (2007), Ignacio S. Galán (2008), José Barea Tejeiro (2009), José Antolin Toledano (2010) and Eric S. Maskin (2011).