

PRESS RELEASE

November 10, 2012

JOSÉ BASELGA, Gabarron International Award for Science and Research 2012

José Baselga, has been selected for The Gabarron International Award for Science and Research 2012 according to the Jury comprised of: Mr. Alberto Aguirre de Cárcer, Chief Editor of La Verdad Grupo Multimedia; The Honorable Mr. José Ballesta Germán, Professor of Medicine of The University of Murcia; Mr Camilo José Cela Conde, Director of the Laboratory of Human Systematics, University of the Balearic Islands; Dr. Carlos Cordón Cardo, M.D., Ph.D., Professor and Chair of the Department of Pathology, Department of Genetics and Genome Sciences of New York University Mount Sinai School of Medicine; Professor and Chair of the Department of Pathology of Mount Sinai Hospital; Mr. Luis Jaramillo Guerreira, Director of COPE Castilla y León; Dr. Regina Revilla Pedreira, Director of External Relations and Communications at Merck, Sharp & Dohme / President of ASEBIO (Spanish Association of Biotechnology), who was unanimously chosen to present The Gabarron International Award for Science and Research 2012 to

José Baselga

For his extensive career as medical researcher, who has become one of the best examples of transnational research. He forms part of the group of Spanish scientists that has become a reference in medical oncology in the United States and the world over.

The work of José Baselga has been internationally recognized for the identification of new mechanisms involved in the resistance to current cancer treatments. He pursues the accelerated clinical application of biomedical research. His continued fight is not only in the laboratory but also at the bedside, with the patient.

Recently, he was appointed medical director of Memorial Sloan-Kettering Center, likely the most prestigious institution in the field of clinical oncology. Baselga will take over the coordination of a team of 834 doctors at the center, which treats over 123,000 patients per year.



The members of the Jury have ruled the award in favor of the Spanish oncologist, after having reviewed the 21 candidates from Germany, Austria, Spain, the United States, France, Italy, Portugal, the United Kingdom, and Russia.

"The Gabarron International Award for Science and Research will be given to that person, group or institution whose scientific work or research in any of the various fields Biology, Biochemistry, Genetic Engineering, Medicine, Physics, Mathematics and other similar disciplines – contributes or produces a major technological br eakthrough, discovery, innovation or improvement for Humanity".

In previous editions, this award was received by: Juan José López-Ibor Aliño, (2002); Henry de Lumley, (2003); Margarita Salas Falgueras, (2004); Valentín Fuster Carulla, (2005); Santiago Grisolía, (2006); Francisco José Ayala, (2007); Lynn Margulis, (2008); Carlos Cordón-Cardó, (2009); Emiliano Aguirre and the three Co-Directors of the Atapuerca Archaeological Site, Juan Luis Arsuaga, José María Bermúdez de Castro and Eudald Carbonell, (2010); and Pedro Cavadas, (2011).

The award, an original artwork by **Cristóbal Gabarrón**, the artist after whom the Foundation is named, will be given out this **November 27** at the New York headquarters of The Gabarron Foundation in the United States, throughout the course of the gala where the awards will be assigned to the nine winners in their respective categories, this year in celebration of the Twentieth Anniversary of the establishment of la Fundación Cristóbal Gabarrón.

The following award winners have been selected in this Eleventh Edition, the sole winner from the category of Sports 2012 yet to be announced:

Joel Shapiro; Gabarron International Award for Visual Arts
Stanley Crouch; Gabarron International Award for Literature
Mikhail Baryshnikov; Gabarron International Award for Performing Arts
George Bisacca; Gabarron International Award for Restoration and Conservation
Siri Hustvedt; Gabarron International Award for Thought and Humanities
The Economist; Gabarron International Award for Economics
Michelle Bachelet; Gabarron International Award for Lifetime Achievement
José Baselga; Gabarron International Award for Science and Research

You can download more information on the Eleventh Edition of the Awards on our website: www.gabarron.org/awards